What Happens if I Hurt Someone in a Drunk Driving Accident?


Driving drunk is an unfortunate reality for many Texans. The Texas Department of Public Safety reported 89,457 drunk driving arrests in 2021 alone.

You know that you shouldn’t get behind the wheel when you’ve had too much to drink, but sometimes accidents happen. When you think about drunk driving, you probably think about getting arrested or injuries you could suffer. What happens if you have a drunk driving accident and someone else is injured, though?

Read on to learn all about the consequences of driving drunk.

Expect an Arrest

Any time you’re pulled over for driving drunk, there is a risk of arrest. Texas drivers suspected of drunk driving undergo a breathalyzer test. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above 0.08%, then you are legally drunk.

Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense that is likely to result in arrest. If you’ve gotten into an accident where another person is injured, then an arrest is a certainty. It doesn’t matter if the person who was injured was in your car or outside of it, an injury aggravates the offense.

If you were also injured in the accident, expect an arrest once you’ve received treatment.

Types of Criminal Charges

Ordinarily, DWI charges in Texas depend upon whether you’ve had a DWI arrest in the past. For example, first-time drunk driving charges have a maximum fine of $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, and a driver’s license suspension for up to a year. Third-time offenders are fined $10,000, go to prison for 2 to 10 years, and lose their license for up to two years.

If you injure someone while driving drunk, then you’ll also face charges for intoxication assault. This is a third-degree felony that carries a fine of $10,000 and 2 to 10 years in prison. This is regardless of your DWI history.

If your accident results in the death of another party, you’ll face intoxication manslaughter charges. Intoxication manslaughter is a second-degree felony that may result in 2 to 20 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

Seek Legal Counsel

As you can see, injuring someone in a drunk driving accident comes with serious consequences. That doesn’t mean you don’t have rights in the process. The most important thing you can do for yourself is to seek out an experienced DWI attorney to represent you.

Your attorney will go over your case with you and help you get the best possible outcome. Don’t be afraid to invoke your right to an attorney as soon as possible so you don’t say anything incriminating.

Were You Arrested for a Drunk Driving Accident?

Getting into a drunk driving accident is scary, especially when someone else is injured.

Making a mistake doesn’t make you a bad person, but there are serious consequences. It’s critical that you seek legal representation to help you uphold your rights throughout the criminal process. The sooner you ask for an attorney, the better your chances of avoiding serious criminal charges.

Are you looking for an attorney to represent you in your Texas DWI case? You’ve come to the right place. Contact Deandra Grant Law to learn how we can help you!

Share :