First Offense DWI: What You Need to Know

DWI Arrest

Driving while intoxicated is never a good combination. It gets compounded when you’re pulled over by police and cited for a DWI. A first offense DWI is a serious charge and should get addressed immediately.

Since it’s your first time DWI offense, you may be inclined to accept the charge and not fight it in court. This could prove to be a costly mistake if you are charged a second time.

In this article, we’re going to discuss what you need to know if you’re stopped for a DWI, and it’s your first offense. Keep reading to learn more about how to get the best results.

First Offense DWI? What You Should Know

Driving while intoxicated is different from driving under the influence in the state of Texas. A DUI is a charge a minor receives when alcohol is detected in the system. However, a person under the age of 21 can still get charged with a DWI if certain conditions are met.

A DWI for a minor also includes detecting drugs and a field sobriety test that registers over 0.08.

Getting charged with a DWI comes with more implications and carries stiffer penalties. Look for a DWI Austin attorney to review your case.

Contesting the Charge

In a DWI case, the defendant has the option of filing a plea of no contest, not guilty, or guilty. For a first charge, an attorney may recommend pleading no contest. In this instance, you’re not admitting guilt, and the case and your attorney can negotiate a sentence.

If you choose to go to trial and you’re found guilty, the judge may not be as lenient, although it’s your first offense.

Another option is to accept a plea deal from the prosecution. In a plea deal, you accept responsibility and avoid going to trial for a lesser sentence.

An important factor to consider is whether DWI involves bodily harm or damage to property. In this case, you don’t want to admit guilt, so a no contest plea is the better option.

Possible Penalties

A first offense DWI can end in several ways.

  • Full exoneration
  • Community service
  • License suspension
  • Install an interlock device
  • Jail time of 72 hours to 180 days

Hiring the right DWI attorney in Austin, Texas, will play a direct role in the outcome of your case. They can use your first-time status as a bargaining tool. Plus, they have the better chase of having the case tossed due to a technicality.

Choose the Right Attorney

A first offense DWI charge should not get taken lightly. Hire an attorney as soon as possible to help you navigate through the legal system. You’ll want someone who’s skilled in fighting DWI charges. Even if there is a conviction, the right attorney can mediate a fair sentence that could be community service over jail time.

Are you in the Austin, Texas area and need a DWI attorney with a proven track record? Click here to contact the law office of James Fletcher Law.

Share :